The Fajr

…which means “The Dawn” in Arabic. The long-shutter shot was taken some 15 minutes before the time for Fajr prayers actually began.

All the five obligatory Salahs (prayer) of a day are named after their particular part of the day – Fajr means dawn, Duhr means noon, ‘Asr means afternoon, Magrib means the west, referring to position of the sun when it sets, and ‘Isha means night. There are multiple Arabic words for all the mentioned parts of a day. But the mentioned five names bear the best references to the precise times when the prayers are supposed to be established.

166/C Shantinagar

via Flickr


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s