47 Years Together


Usually, to get the smile from them I want in a photo, I first insist Baba to grab Ammu and pull her closer. Then quite naturally Ammu protests and threatens to call it off. Eventually both get an almost explosive laugh afterward, and I get my purpose served.

Surely I didn’t but unleash that trick tonight on their 47th wedding anniversary, all praises are for Allah sub’hana wa ta’ala.

“And lower to them [parents] the wing of humility out of mercy and say, “My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was small].” Quran 17:24

One thought on “47 Years Together

Leave a Reply

